TOOL What the EEOC Covers

By Staff Report

Nov. 11, 2008

As HR managers know, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission is the federal agency charged with enforcing compliance with employment discrimination laws. What may not be as familiar are exactly the names and details of the laws that the EEOC covers. They are:

  • Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
  • Equal Pay Act of 1963
  • Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967
  • Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Sections 501 and 505
  • Titles I and V of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990
  • Civil Rights Act of 1991

The EEOC’s Web site offers an in-depth look into each of the six laws on the page titled “Laws Enforced by the EEOC.” HR managers and other executives may find it useful to bookmark the page for quick access to these important rules.

Workforce Management Online, November 2008Register Now!

Schedule, engage, and pay your staff in one system with