Legal

Colorado Law Targets Misclassifying Employees as Contractors

By Staff Report

Jun. 9, 2009

Colorado employers that misclassify employees as independent contractors will be liable for penalties of up to $5,000 per employee and up to $25,000 for subsequent violations under a bill signed into law by Colorado Gov. Bill Ritter.


The state’s division of employment and training in the Department of Labor and Employment is responsible for conducting investigations under the new law.


According to the legislation—H.B. 1310—that was signed last week, businesses that misclassify employees can gain an unfair competitive advantage over firms that properly classify employees and pay appropriate state taxes.


The law could create problems for employers as it is not always clear when a person should be classified as a worker or contractor, said an employment attorney.


“A lot of times employers have a difficult time determining whether someone really does fit into the status of an independent contractor,” said Mark Wiletsky, of counsel to law firm Holland & Hart in Boulder, Colorado.


“My worry is that employers are going to be held to a very high standard, even though the law in this area is gray at best,” he said.


“We’re going to have to see how the agency and how the courts ultimately interpret this law,” Wiletsky said.



Filed by Judy Greenwald of Business Insurance, a sister publication of Workforce Management. To comment, e-mail editors@workforce.com.


Workforce Management’s online news feed is now available via Twitter


About Workforce.com

blog workforce

We build robust scheduling & attendance software for businesses with 500+ frontline workers. With custom BI reporting and demand-driven scheduling, we help our customers reduce labor spend and increase profitability across their business. It's as simple as that.

Book a call
See the software

Related Articles

workforce blog

Compliance

Minimum Wage by State in 2022 – All You Need to Know

Summary The federal minimum wage rate is $7.25, but the rate is higher in 30 states, along with Washing...

federal law, minimum wage, pay rates, state law, wage law compliance

workforce blog

Legal

California’s push for a 32-hour workweek explained, and how to prepare

Summary: California is considering a 32-hour workweek bill for businesses with over 500 staff 4 day wee...

32 hour workweek, 4 day workweek, california, legislature, overtime

workforce blog

Legal

A business owner’s guide to restaurant tipping law

Business owners in the restaurant industry are in a unique position when it comes to employee tips. As ...

restaurants, tip laws, tipping