Legal

Massachusetts Residents Lacking Health Insurance to Face Higher Penalty

By Jerry Geisel

Jan. 18, 2012

Massachusetts residents who do not have health insurance will face a higher financial penalty in 2012 under newly finalized rules.

Under the guidelines—unchanged from previous rules proposed by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue—the maximum penalty this year for those with incomes that exceed 300 percent of the federal poverty level will be $105 for each month that an individual is not covered by health insurance, or $1,260 a year.

In 2011, the maximum penalty for noncompliance was $101 a month, up to a maximum of $1,212 a year.

However, penalties for those with incomes that are less than 300 percent of the federal poverty level will be unchanged from 2011. Depending on their income, they will range from $19 to $58 a month.

Penalties, though, do not apply for individuals whose incomes are less than 150 percent of the federal poverty level, which is $16,344 for an individual and $33,528 for a family of four. Those individuals are eligible for free health insurance coverage, with premiums paid by the state.

Imposing penalties on those without health insurance is a key part of the 2006 Massachusetts health care reform law, with the goal of moving the state very close to universal coverage.

Last September, the U.S. Census Bureau reported that at 5 percent—averaged over 2009 and 2010—Massachusetts had the lowest uninsured rate of any U.S. state.

Jerry Geisel writes for Business Insurance, a sister publication of Workforce Management. To comment, email editors@workforce.com.

Stay informed and connected. Get human resources news and HR features via Workforce Management’s Twitter feed or RSS feeds for mobile devices and news readers.

Jerry Geisel writes for Business Insurance, a sister publication of Workforce Management.

About Workforce.com

blog workforce

We build robust scheduling & attendance software for businesses with 500+ frontline workers. With custom BI reporting and demand-driven scheduling, we help our customers reduce labor spend and increase profitability across their business. It's as simple as that.

Book a call
See the software

Related Articles

workforce blog

Compliance

Minimum Wage by State in 2022 – All You Need to Know

Summary The federal minimum wage rate is $7.25, but the rate is higher in 30 states, along with Washing...

federal law, minimum wage, pay rates, state law, wage law compliance

workforce blog

Legal

California’s push for a 32-hour workweek explained, and how to prepare

Summary: California is considering a 32-hour workweek bill for businesses with over 500 staff 4 day wee...

32 hour workweek, 4 day workweek, california, legislature, overtime

workforce blog

Legal

A business owner’s guide to restaurant tipping law

Business owners in the restaurant industry are in a unique position when it comes to employee tips. As ...

restaurants, tip laws, tipping