The Baldrige Standard

By Patrick Kiger

Apr. 1, 2008

In its culture reinvention process, Crouse chose to utilize the Baldrige performance-excellence criteria as a framework. Here are its seven key areas of focus, adapted from the Institute of Standards and Technology’s Baldrige National Quality Program Web site

1Leadership:How senior executives guide the organization and how the organization addresses its responsibilities to the public and practices good citizenship.
2Strategic planning: How the organization sets strategic directions and how it determines key action plans.
3Customer and market focus:How the organization determines requirements and expectations of customers and markets; builds relationships with customers; and acquires, satisfies and retains customers.
4Measurement, analysis and knowledge management: How the organization manages, analyzes and improves data and information to support key processes and the performance management system.
5Workforce focus: How the organization enables its workforce to develop its full potential and how the workforce is aligned with the organization’s objectives.
6Process management:How key production/delivery and support processes are designed, managed and improved.
7Results: The organization’s performance and improvement in its key business areas: customer satisfaction; financial and marketplace performance; human resources; supplier and partner performance; operational performance; and governance and social responsibility. How the organization performs relative to competitors.

Workforce Management, March 17, 2008, p. 22Subscribe Now!

Schedule, engage, and pay your staff in one system with