Legal

Court Rules Employer Can Count Award Toward Workers Comp

By Staff Report

Jul. 14, 2010

Employers are entitled to credit an employee’s third-party liability award against future workers’ compensation benefits for which they may be responsible, Connecticut’s Supreme Court said in a ruling released Tuesday, July 13.


In Janice Thomas v. Department of Developmental Services et al., Thomas argued that a lien provision in Connecticut law applies only to workers’ comp benefits that an employer already has paid and not to future benefits.


The provision entitles an employer that is paying workers’ comp benefits to place a lien against any third-party judgment or settlement that an employee receives, court records state.


Thomas filed a workers’ comp claim after falling on an icy sidewalk leading to her workplace in 2004. She also filed a third-party lawsuit that was settled for $45,000.


After the settlement, a dispute arose over the lien issue in Connecticut law.


In 2007, a workers’ compensation commissioner ruled in favor of Thomas, finding the state agency was not entitled to credit her third-party award against future workers’ comp benefits it could be obligated to pay.


But a compensation review board overturned the commissioner’s finding.


In the Tuesday ruling, the Connecticut Supreme Court affirmed the board’s decision, ruling that “well-established public policy” in the law says that “double compensation for an injury is to be avoided.” 


 Filed by Roberto Ceniceros of Business Insurance, a sister publication of Workforce Management. To comment, e-mail editors@workforce.com.


 


Stay informed and connected. Get human resources news and HR features via Workforce Management’s Twitter feed or RSS feeds for mobile devices and news readers.

About Workforce.com

blog workforce

We build robust scheduling & attendance software for businesses with 500+ frontline workers. With custom BI reporting and demand-driven scheduling, we help our customers reduce labor spend and increase profitability across their business. It's as simple as that.

Book a call
See the software

Related Articles

workforce blog

Compliance

Minimum Wage by State in 2022 – All You Need to Know

Summary The federal minimum wage rate is $7.25, but the rate is higher in 30 states, along with Washing...

federal law, minimum wage, pay rates, state law, wage law compliance

workforce blog

Legal

California’s push for a 32-hour workweek explained, and how to prepare

Summary: California is considering a 32-hour workweek bill for businesses with over 500 staff 4 day wee...

32 hour workweek, 4 day workweek, california, legislature, overtime

workforce blog

Legal

A business owner’s guide to restaurant tipping law

Business owners in the restaurant industry are in a unique position when it comes to employee tips. As ...

restaurants, tip laws, tipping